Midnight Song Bird

Recently I have been struggling with a bout of insomnia. Because I’m obviously the only one who doesn’t sleep, I sometimes take walks or go for a drive.

A few nights ago at about midnight, while my entire home was sleeping soundly, i stepped outside hoping to unload some anxiety.

Life can get stressful sometimes and when I feel myself losing it, I just need to get away with God.

While I was walking I saw this tiny little bird. Actually, I heard this tiny little bird “chirp.” When I saw it, I immediately thought it was injured and felt really bad, but obviously I was not going to touch a germy bird (sorry Peta). It didn’t take long for me to realize that it wasn’t injured or hurt, it was just a carefree bird going for a walk just like me.

I wonder if birds have insomnia.

Probably not.

As I made my way around the circle, and away from insomnia bird, it just kept on chirping. Chirping away like a little crazy bird. Probably ranting about what a difficult birdie day he had. I am not exactly sure what birds deal with on a day to day basis. Maybe his bird friends kicked him out of the nest because he chirped so loud.

Or maybe he was rejoicing. Using the beautiful voice God gave him and chirping a beautiful song of praise.

Before I entered my home, the realization occurred to me that during my walk, I unloaded all of my problems on to God. I chirped off a rant about what a difficult mom-day that I had. I totally forgot to use the beautiful voice God gave me and chirp praises to my creator.

Sometimes I forget how awesome my life is.

I get on facebook and look at everyone else’s pretend life and I forget how awesome my life is…. how awesome of a life God gave me. I think about my messy, broken, life. I look at the way my life was “supposed” to be and all of the things I “could” have done if I had chosen a different path.

I forget that God’s path is  the perfect path.

I forget that I have a wonderful, supportive, sometimes obnoxious, extraverted husband who somehow through all of my issues loves to love me.

I forget that I have a smart little boy who hates learning in conventional ways and has made it nearly impossible to complete our traditional homeschooling approach on a daily basis, yet somehow still manages to learn.

And I forget that I have a sweet, sweet little baby boy who loves me so much that he never wants to leave my side.

I’m so thankful for realizations like these.

When I look back at my life, I’m thankful that I chose the “wrong” path, because it led me to the right one. I’m still amazed on a daily basis that God turned my mess into this beautiful life. This beautiful, unbroken, Christ-loving, family… in every way.

Perfection.

 

In other news, this week our How to Make a Biscuit Facebook page hit 40 Likes!! I know this doesn’t seem like much, but it means the world to me that 40 people care about what I have to say… Thank you for your support.

One thought on “Midnight Song Bird

Share your thoughts...

